1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Trough of Despair: Bracketed Words in Scriptures

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by LaymansTermsPlease, May 8, 2004.

1. LaymansTermsPlease

I've read the Bible since I was a child, never really coming to grips with this "Greek thing" until recently.

I'm a simple layman, so I don't know Greek and probably never will study it....oh, maybe I'll break down and buy a Mounce "Greek for idiots" type book one day. ;) The various translations (especially the literal ones) have been great eye openers for me.

Proof texting came naturally to me over the years growing up, but a few years ago, I first heard of this "exegesis" thing [​IMG]

Computer tools to allow me to see 8 or more translations side by side are wonderful...and yet at times frightening.

Maybe you've heard of the famous enthusiasm curve:

1 interest
    2 enthusiasm
    3 high enthusiasm
    4 realization of the complexity
    5 trough of despair
    6 reality

Right now, I think I'm somewhere between phase 4 and 5 of my "digging as deep as possible" project. [​IMG]

Let's take an example of what boggles my mind. Looking at Romans 5:18 in ASV and literal, we see some phrases that were added to the English by the authors..phrases that are not in the Greek as far as I can tell with side-by-side comparison tools.

The KJV adds the same bracketed words as the ASV does. I've googled around and looked at numerous commentaries, but I can't for the life of me find any explanation of why these words were just thrown in there.

I was looking at this verse in context of studies on Arminianism versus Calvinism (so don't worry, I'm not trying to work some misguided Universalist angle) [​IMG]