1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Featured Where do we stand today?

Discussion in 'Fundamental Baptist Forum' started by Tennessee Gal, May 25, 2017.

1. Tennessee Gal

Tennessee Gal Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I grew up in the Hyles/ Rice camp of the independent Baptist. Many times we had Jack Hyles, and other well know pastors speak at my home church. We were taught to love and honor these men and others like them.

I graduated for a christian college and my husband graduated from a state university. After college we married and my husband earned his master's from Temple Baptist Theological Seminary and then we went into the ministry.

Over the years we became more and more concerned about the level of adoration being given to leaders in fundamental circles. As I mentioned in another post, we attended a conference in the early eighties where Jack Hyles was speaking. It took 25 minutes for him to be introduced. On the way home my husband said," Honey, they are taking glory that belongs to Christ and giving it to men.

Also over time we started questioning some of Hyles' methods.I worked with a friend who had gone on visitation and came to work the next day all pumped up that they had lead 4 people to Christ the evening before. A few weeks later I asked him had any of these people been baptized or attended church. None of them had.
    I began questioning the whole " soul winning" techniques we were taught. Like controlling the conversation, leading them in a "salvation prayer" without any real conviction of sin, or the Holy Spirit's leading in the encounter .