1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Featured Postmillennialism

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by evangelist6589, Apr 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. evangelist6589

evangelist6589 Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I had a dream that I was talking with an angel who gave me the secrets to theology in a number of areas. In the area of eschatology he said that postmillennialism was the correct interpretation and the others the incorrect ones. It's been a while since I studied this eschatology so besides Ken Gentry who holds to It and believes it correct?

2. Martin Marprelate

Martin Marprelate Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    The Puritans were mostly Postmillennial. I've been re-reading The Puritan Hope by Iain Murray, and while it hasn't converted me to Postmil, it has encouraged me to be more optimistic. Things are so bad for the Church in Britain right now that we seem to have the mentality of Captain Kirk being attacked by the Klingons. We're just waiting for Scotty to beam us up out of the desperate situation.

Yet in 1712, at another time of terrible declension in England, Isaac Watts published his hymn Jesus shall Reign where e're the Sun, and in God's good time, revival came.

Around 1790, William Carey delivered his 'deathless sermon' on Isaiah 54:1-3. In it, he likened the Church of his day to a barren woman, but she is not to languish but prepare for great blessing, because God will yet do wonderful things for her and through her. This sermon sparked off the modern missionary movement. Carey's watchword was, "Expect great things; attempt great things!"