1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

A novel view on Old Earth Creationism

Discussion in 'Creation vs. Evolution' started by Seeker of the Source, Nov 2, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Seeker of the Source

Faith:
    Non Baptist Christian
    Many YEC and OEC folks may not know about this book (released in 1996 and 2011)
    Genesis Unbound: A Provocative New Look at the Creation Account I found it to be a very interesting viewpoint by a Hebrew language scholar. It is a recommended read.

I used to be a YEC after I was first saved in 1974, reading The Genesis Flood and other ICR materials. I was part of the Triangle Association for Creationism About Us | TASC in Raleigh, NC as I was a medical research scientist at the time. I kept doing creationism research and stumbled upon Dan Wonderley's God's Time-Records in Ancient Sediments and it blew my YEC mind-set out of the water. I loaned my copy to other members of the Triangle Association for Creationism and they refused to even read it! I have been a very comfortable OEC ever since.

I went to the Ark Encounter in Kentucky last year and was impressed by the size of everything but going inside, I was saddened to see it was floor after floor of Ken Ham's "accept-YEC" show and no mention of the OEC alternative. Also, the whole gestalt of the Ark Encounter reminded of a "Disney" themed attraction that spilled finally into the gift shop. Ham even had a restaurant named after Noah's wife which he made up himself.